bandeau UL
École supérieure d’études internationales
Home page > The School > What we do

What we do


The Institute for Advanced International Studies (HEI) is under the direct oversight of the Vice Rector for Research and Development at Université Laval.

The HEI Council is a decision-making body made up of faculty partners, the Vice Rector for Research and Development, HEI staff representatives, member professors, and appointees from the government and private sector. The director of HEI is appointed by the Université Laval Board of Directors, in accordance with currently applicable procedures, and supported by a steering committee.

 The Program Committee is a joint committee made up of students and professors. It ensures that programs and teaching meet quality standards, keep pace with changes in the field of education and societal needs, and comply with program guidelines and objectives. The committee also ensures that suitable means are used to attain these objectives, collaborates with recruitment efforts, and helps the program director carry out responsibilities relating to the admission, orientation, and integration of students.

View the organization chart


The HEI Council

Council Chair

Honourable Pierre S. Pettigrew

Université Laval members


  • Robert Beauregard, Vice Rector, Academic and Student Affairs
  • Louis Bélanger, Director, HEI
  • Eugénie Brouillet, Vice Rector, Research, Creation and Innovation
  • Pauline Curien, Comunication coordinator, representing HEI employees
  • Jean-Claude Dufour, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences
  • Marie-Hélène Gagnon, Professor, Faculty of Management, representing HEI member professors
  • Chany Gauthier, President of REMDEI, representing HEI students 
  • François Gélineau, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Michel Gendron, Dean, Faculty of Business Administration
  • Anne-Marie Laflamme, Dean, Faculty of Law
  • Guy Mercier, Dean, Faculty of Forestry, Geography and Geomatics
  • Guillaume Pinson, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Human Sciences


Outside members

  • Jean-Stéphane Bernard, Deputy Minister, ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
  • Anne Gaboury, President and CEO, Développement international Desjardins
  • Hélène V. Gagnon, Vice President, Public Affairs and Global Communications, CAE


Steering Committee

  • Louis Bélanger, Director, HEI
  • Marie Brossier, Department of Political Science, Faculty of Social Sciences, regular member
  • Marie-Hélène Gagnon, Director of the Master’s and PhD programs in International Studies, ex officio member
  • Véronique Labonté, Ph.D. Student at HEI, Student research member
  • Stéphane Leman-Langlois, Social Service and Crimonology School, Faculty of Social Sciences, regular member
  • Jonathan Paquin, Director of the journal Études internationalesex officio member
  • Kintxo Freiss, master’s student in International Studies, student member
  • Arthur Silve, Department of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences, regular member


Program committee

Program director

  • Marie-Hélène Gagnon, Faculty of Management

Faculty members

  • Philippe Bourbeau, Department, Political Science, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Arthur Silve, Department  of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Richard Ouellet, Faculty of Law
  • Lota Tamini, Faculty of Agricultural  and Food Science, Agrofood Economics Department

Student members

  • Ricardo Cortès
  • Stéphanie Dumont
  • Olivier Mercier
  • François-Olivier Picard



HEI research members and affiliated members number over 70 strong, and all are subject matter experts in their respective areas. While most come from the fields of political science, law, or economics/management, others specialize in geography, sociology, agronomy, and history.

Researcher roster


Staff members



General management and administration

  • Louis Bélanger, Director
  • Cynthia Gervais, Executive Coordinator
  • Diane Gosselin, Secretary

Program management

  • Marie-Hélène Gagnon, Program Director
  • Aline Dumont, Teaching Coordinator
  • Sylvie Coulombe, Study Management Advisor

Publications and communications/ development

  • Pauline Curien, Development, Research, and Communications Coordinator;
    Editor of the journal Études internationales
  • Ariane Bérubé - Communications assistant

Diplomats in residence

  • Jacques Bilodeau
  • G. Daniel Caron
  • Patrice Dallaire
  • François Lafond
  • Pierre Guimond
  • Susan Keogh

Military in residence

  • Brigadier-General Richard Giguère


Design and production : Centre de services en TI et en pédagogie (CSTIP). All rights reserved. © 2016 Université Laval
Admin panel